Ottawa Tourism Gets New Board


This is a release from Ottawa Tourism:

Ottawa Tourism was pleased to welcome over 100 members of the tourism industry to its Annual General Meeting (AGM) on Monday, May 29th, at the Ottawa Conference and Event Centre.

The participants, largely members of Ottawa Tourism, came together to network, learn about the activities, successes, and operating picture of Ottawa Tourism, as well as to gain insights into how their businesses fit into the broader tourism landscape, especially during this important sesquicentennial year in the National Capital Region.

The AGM, a hybrid of a professional development event and Annual General Meeting, featured a panel of industry experts, tourism highlights from the past year, as well as the election of Ottawa Tourism’s board of directors.

“This year, we wanted to add even more value to our AGM proceedings by including two distinguished experts in the travel industry to provide a national tourism picture, including their thoughts on how Ottawa Tourism and the local tourism industry can best feed into the respective national strategies. We thank Keith Henry, CEO of the Aboriginal Tourism Association of Canada, Nina Kressler, President and CEO of Shaw Centre, and Fitti Lourenco, Director, Government Affairs of Air Canada for their insights and advice,” says Michael Crockatt, President and CEO of Ottawa Tourism.

Ottawa Tourism is pleased to present its new board of directors for 2017-2018:
Paul Akehurst, Intertask Group of Companies
Steve Ball, Ottawa Gatineau Hotel Association
Michèle Canto, Canadian Museum of History
Michael Crockatt, Ottawa Tourism
Jasna Jennings, ByWard Market BIA
Nina Kressler, Shaw Centre
Mariève Desmarais, Rural Tourism Committee Chair, Prescott Russell Tourism
Ross Meredith, Meetings and Conventions Committee Chair, The Westin Ottawa
Colin Morrison, Travel Trade Committee Chair, Ottawa Embassy Hotel & Suites
Geoff Publow, Chairman of the Board, Ottawa Senators Hockey Club
John Smit, City of Ottawa
David Smythe, Leisure Committee Chair, Lord Elgin Hotel
John Swettenham, Canadian Museum of Nature
Joel Tkach, Ottawa International Airport Authority
Cindy VanBuskirk, CF Rideau Centre
Steve Wilson, Escape Manor


Back to The Bulldog’s home page, click here.

To comment on this post, use the reply box at the bottom of this page.




Bloomberg Live-Streaming Video News

Bulldog Technology

Bulldog Celebrities

Bulldog Travel

Bulldog Sports

Bulldog Hockey

Bulldog Sens

Your Comments: The Sound And The Fury

Donald Trump’s Controversial Twitter Feed

Full Local: All Your Ottawa News


CBC Radio One, 1310 News, CFRA, TSN 1200

Movie Reviews And News

Music Reviews And News

Ottawa Gas Prices

#ottnews: Ottawa’s Breaking News

RSS Comment Feed For Bulldog Ottawa

RSS News Feed for Bulldog Ottawa

TV Reviews And News

What’s On: Ottawa Events

For your 10-day Ottawa and world weather forecasts, click here.

Return to The Bulldog (Ottawa), Bulldog Canadian or Bulldog Politics.


2 thoughts on “Ottawa Tourism Gets New Board

  1. Well, aren’t I just thrilled to bits. How much did this little gathering of the exclusive clan cost us?

    We continually hear about how many dollars are being brought into our City and yet, we never hear about revenue that the City has gained.

    Anne Maire

    1. My thoughts exactly…

      Also surprised to see Byward Market BIA on there given the recent uproar in the market over York Street. They can’t manage a project in their own neighbourhood so we trust them with even more responsibilities.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *